4 2 logo

rector prize

In 2012, Dr. Nibaldo Avilés was part of the jury that distinguished the last National Musical Arts Award.

For the second time in a row, the Council of Rectors of Chilean Universities (CRUCH), appointed the Rector of the University of La Serena, Dr. Nibaldo Avilés Pizarro, as his representative to integrate the jury that will discern the National Musical Arts Award corresponding to the year 2014.

The highest university authority will be part of this instance, which is delivered every two years, along with the Minister of Education, the rector of the U. de Chile, the last recipient of this award and a representative of the Chilean Academy of Fine Arts.

The Rector of the U. de La Serena, together with thanking the Board of Rectors for this significant appointment, said that it is a "real pride to be part of the jury again that should define this important recognition that is granted to the most outstanding musicians of our country . This fact constitutes a recognition to the prestige that the University of La Serena has at national level in the musical field ".

Recall that in 2012, Dr. Avilés was part of the jury that discerned the last National Award of Musical Arts, an award that finally fell to the director Juan Pablo Izquierdo.

National Award of Musical Arts

The National Musical Arts Award of Chile was created in the 1992 year (Law No. 19.169) and is awarded to the person who has distinguished himself for his achievements in the respective area of ​​the arts. This distinction is part of the National Awards of Chile, awarded every two years and aimed at recognizing the work of Chileans for their excellence, creativity, transcendent contribution to the national culture and the development of these fields and areas of knowledge and arts , be awarded these awards. The award was created as a reorganization of the National Art Prize, which was handed out annually between 1944-1992 and alternated between painting or sculpture, music and theater.